EDUCATION · IOWA STATE TRACKER
Iowa Released-Time Religious Instruction Tracker: District Policies & Programs
Iowa requires public school districts and accredited nonpublic schools to excuse qualifying requests for religious instruction during the school day. This tracker connects current law to district policies, board records and provider plans, while separating permission, announced launch and verified operation.
Law in effect · 15 district research records · 4 detailed trackers
Research baseline: October 8, 2026. The four detailed pages document different stages; none is labelled a currently verified operating program in this edition. This is a selective research register, not a statewide compliance or enrollment count.
Can Iowa students leave school for Bible class?
Yes, when the request satisfies Iowa Code §299.1D. The law applies to privately provided religious instruction, not only Bible classes or LifeWise. Schools covered by the section must excuse qualifying requested attendance for at least one and no more than five hours per week. Participation is initiated by the family or an emancipated minor; a student is not required to attend a religious program. Current Iowa Code.
Does the school run the program? The statute assigns instruction to a private organization. A district release policy, provider enrollment page, building lease and actual class attendance establish different facts. The table below preserves those distinctions.
What changed in 2025? HF 870 created the current section; SF 659 amended its administrative-cost paragraph. Both took effect July 1, 2025. No later amendment to §299.1D or its facility cross-reference §297.9 was located in the 2026 sections-amended report reviewed for this edition. 2025 legislative history · 2026 amendment check.
Iowa Code §299.1D: required conditions and local procedures
| Topic | Current statutory rule | What must be checked locally |
|---|---|---|
| Who must excuse attendance | Each school district and each accredited nonpublic school must excuse a qualifying request under subsection 2. | This duty is not evidence that a named provider is endorsed or operating. |
| Weekly time | At least 1 and no more than 5 hours weekly; the course may not require more than 5 hours of school absence. | Confirm departure, return and travel time. The statewide range does not establish a student’s actual timetable. |
| Parent / guardian consent | Subsection 1(a) requires notification by the parent, guardian or legal/actual custodian, or by an emancipated minor. Subsection 2 addresses the request for release. | The section does not prescribe one statewide signed form. Obtain the current school notification and release procedure; provider registration is separate. |
| Attendance records | The private organization keeps attendance records and makes them available to the school to verify course attendance. | Confirm recipient, delivery method, canceled sessions and return-to-school records. |
| Transportation | Provided by the private organization, parent/guardian/custodian or child. | Verify actual operator, payer, supervision, accessibility and pickup/return arrangements. No district bus entitlement is created here. |
| Location / school property | Instruction cannot be on school district property unless the board authorizes it under §297.9. | An exception is not automatic permission. Confirm property control, the actual board action and use agreement. |
| Liability | The private organization must make provision for and assume liability while the child attends the course. | A provider statement is not an inspected insurance certificate. The section does not specify an insurance dollar amount. |
| Public funds | No district or accredited nonpublic school spending related to the course except de minimis costs for processing notifications and tracking attendance. | The narrow administration exception is not a general instructional or transportation subsidy. |
| Missed schoolwork | The child agrees to make up schoolwork not completed during the course. | Confirm assignments, tests, deadlines and school contacts; no blanket waiver of missed work follows. |
| Core classes / grades | The reviewed section contains no general core-subject prohibition or named grade range. | Check scheduling procedures against the statute. Provider grade eligibility is not a statewide statutory limit. |
| Academic credit | §299.1D does not create an automatic credit award for the private religious course. | Any claimed local credit award needs its own current legal and district basis. |
| Enforcement | Subsection 3 provides a civil action against a school district for an alleged violation, seeking injunctive relief and actual damages, with reasonable costs and attorney fees for a prevailing plaintiff. | A statutory remedy is not proof of a filed suit, an automatic recovery, or a court ruling against any district. |
Source: §299.1D(1)–(3). The statute does not set a separate statewide district-policy adoption deadline; its effective date and the school’s duty to honor qualifying requests should not be replaced with the policy deadlines used in other states.
Can Iowa religious instruction use school property?
The current law contains an express exception: a school board may authorize school-property use pursuant to §297.9. That cross-reference permits specified community uses subject to board control, noninterference with school activities, and compensation and terms intended to protect the district and its property. It does not grant every provider an automatic right to a classroom. Read §297.9.
A church, municipal community center, public library and former school building raise different factual questions. Verify who controls the particular premises and what agreement exists. Chariton’s city lease and East Mills’ reported library plan do not themselves constitute school-board authorization under §297.9. The statute’s exception also should not be treated as a court ruling that any particular arrangement is constitutional. The national guide supplies broader released-time context.
Make-up work, chronic absence and academic credit
The child’s agreement to complete missed work is a condition of qualifying release. Separately, §299.12(1)(a) excludes absences for a qualifying §299.1D course from the chronic-absence calculation. That accounting rule does not excuse unrelated absences or eliminate the make-up-work requirement. Missed-work condition · Chronic-absence provision.
Permission to leave, attendance accounting and academic credit are three different decisions. No statewide credit award is supplied by §299.1D. A family should obtain the specific current district/course approval before relying on a credit promise or an older bill summary.
Iowa released-time lawsuits: what the statute actually allows
A parent, guardian or legal/actual custodian, or an emancipated minor, alleging that a school district violated the section may bring a civil action against that district for injunctive relief and actual damages. The court must award reasonable court costs and attorney fees to a prevailing plaintiff. These are conditional remedies, not automatic damages whenever a scheduling disagreement arises. §299.1D(3).
The release duty also covers accredited nonpublic schools, but the civil-action language specifically names a school district as defendant. This tracker does not extend that remedy to other institutions by inference. It reports the statutory route, not an adjudicated Iowa case or a prediction of a lawsuit’s outcome.
Useful records for resolving an implementation question include the request, proposed schedule, provider conditions, school response and the policy cited in that response. Any local complaint or appeal procedure must be verified separately; this edition does not invent a mandatory exhaustion requirement absent from the reviewed section.
Iowa district policy and provider-status comparison
Search names, provider names or rules; filter the evidence status; sort names alphabetically. All 15 records are present in the initial HTML and remain readable without JavaScript. Status labels identify the record described in each row: “Approved” can mean a facility approval, and “Adopted” can mean a general policy. Neither means active classes. “Unknown-not-located” records a research gap, not a rejection or finding of noncompliance.
15 entries
| District | Evidence status | Policy / latest action | Provider / schedule evidence | Next record needed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mid-Prairie | Adopted Policy revised August 10, 2026; operation unverified | Yes — 501.11 revised August 10, 2026: second reading 5–0 | LifeWise — proposal documented One hour weekly proposed; not final | Final pilot schedule, consent form and operating record. |
| East Mills | Approved April 2025 approval; historical launch plan; current operation unverified | Current full text not located; handbook references 501.11 April 9, 2025: approval 5–0 | LifeWise — board approval documented Wednesday lunch-time plan in 2025 reporting; current timetable unknown | 2026–27 agreement, school roster, transport contract and attendance record. |
| Chariton | Approved City facility approved; school release implementation and operation unverified | Unknown — school policy not located September 8, 2026: city council lease 3–0; school-board action not located | LifeWise — facility lease documented Monday facility use; pupil release time unknown | Original renewed lease, school release policy, pupil schedule and operating confirmation. |
| Osage | Proposed Spring 2026 announcement; current operation unverified | Unknown — final specific text not located September 22, 2025: superintendent discussion; no program vote | Anodos Academy — official planning record One-hour spring class advertised; travel separate; current timetable unknown | Corrected original letter, adopted policy and current attendance or launch record. |
| Newton | Proposed 2026–27 off-site proposal reported; current operation unverified | Unknown — current final text not located June 2026 discussion reported; exact primary disposition not located | LifeWise — reported proposal Not verified | June 2026 original minutes, final adopted policy, consent procedure and launch record. |
| Lake Mills | Pending Approval described by third-party index; primary terms unverified | Unknown — full text not located June 8, 2026 index entry; final signed vote not verified | LifeWise — indexed agreement lead Not verified | Original June 8 minutes, complete LifeWise agreement and operating timetable. |
| Des Moines | Pending January 2026 pilot reported; current operation unverified | Unknown — current final text not located Current primary action not located | LifeWise — reported pilot Not verified | District pilot notice, participating-school confirmation and current procedures. |
| Boyden-Hull | Unknown-not-located Historical launch account; present operation unverified | Unknown — current final text not located Current board action not located | LifeWise — historical sponsor account Not verified | 2026–27 district procedure and corroborated current operating record. |
| Waterloo | Proposed August 2024 public request; later disposition unverified | Unknown — current final text not located August 12, 2024: public comment; not approval | Provider arrangement not verified Not verified | Post-2025 final policy and response to the earlier public request. |
| Aplington-Parkersburg | Unknown-not-located Provider claim only; district participation not independently verified | Unknown — current final text not located Current board action not located | LifeWise — provider-reported expansion Not verified | District policy, school roster and actual operating evidence. |
| Ankeny | Unknown-not-located Current district implementation unknown | Unknown — current final text not located Current board action not located | LifeWise — community biography lead Not verified | District notification procedure and primary participating-school record. |
| Mason City | Unknown-not-located Current district implementation unknown | Unknown — current final text not located Current board action not located | LifeWise — third-party listing only Not verified | Official policy and school/provider documents corroborating current activity. |
| Linn-Mar | Adopted General attendance policy located; provider operation unknown | General 501.1 posted; specific implementation unknown Posted 501.1; released-time-specific vote not located | Not verified Not specified in reviewed general policy | Current release regulation, specific revision record and provider evidence. |
| East Union | Adopted General release policy located; provider operation unknown | General 501.11 posted 501.11 reviewed March 24, 2026 | Not verified Not specified in reviewed general policy | Administrative release regulations, provider record and actual schedule. |
| Maquoketa Valley | Adopted General release policy located; provider operation unknown | General 501.11 posted 501.11 approved/reviewed July 21, 2025 | Not verified Not specified in reviewed general policy | Current regulations, provider documentation and implementing board record. |
No matching entries. Clear the search or choose another status.
Download district comparison (CSV) · Download structured district records (JSON)
Four detailed district trackers
Mid-Prairie
Mid-Prairie revised Policy 501.11 on August 10, 2026 after separate discussions of a proposed LifeWise pilot. The June board record says no action was taken on an acknowledgment letter. Neither that item nor the later general policy revision verifies an operating LifeWise class.
East Mills
East Mills board minutes record a 5–0 LifeWise approval on April 9, 2025. Later reporting describes a 2025 elementary launch plan involving a library and contracted transport. The approval is verified; the historical schedule is not presented as an October 2026 operating timetable.
Chariton
Chariton city records document a LifeWise community-center lease and a change from four weekdays to Mondays. A September 2026 reproduced council notice records renewal through May 2027. These are facility approvals; the review has not verified a district policy, pupil schedule or actual attendance.
Osage
Osage’s September 2025 board minutes document administrators meeting Anodos Academy about student release. A district-authored family letter and the provider’s spring 2026 announcement add detail. This review confirms planning and an announced course, not an independently verified October 2026 operating program.
These pages were selected for distinct primary records: policy adoption and acknowledgment in Mid-Prairie; a documented program vote in East Mills; changing municipal leases in Chariton; and official coordination with a different provider, Anodos, in Osage. Unknown implementation details remain visible on every page.
Iowa LifeWise activity and other providers
LifeWise appears in several located proposals and approvals. Its own expansion announcements are useful leads, but provider claims do not establish a district’s final policy, participating-school roster or current attendance. We have not converted provider-reported statewide totals into verified counts. Provider press release, labelled as such.
Osage demonstrates why this is a released-time tracker rather than a LifeWise-only directory: the district’s minutes name Anodos Academy. Official Osage record. A provider enrollment step, recruitment listing or third-party map can help locate documents, but cannot by itself establish school participation.
State and district implementation timeline
| Date | What the evidence establishes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| June 6, 2025 | HF 870 signed; §2 creates §299.1D. | Legislative report |
| June 11, 2025 | SF 659 signed; §13 amends the subsection 1(f) administration-cost provision. | Legislative report |
| July 1, 2025 | Both provisions effective; current code history identifies 2025 Acts chapters 143 and 159. | Current code · Effective dates |
| July–August 2026 | Mid-Prairie completes two readings of the general release-policy revision. | July · August |
| September 8, 2026 | Chariton city council approves a new Monday facility lease term; not a district participation vote. | Reproduced minutes |
| October 8, 2026 | State law and 15 district research records reviewed; four evidence-rich trackers published. | Amendment review |
Documents to confirm before a child leaves school
- Obtain the current school release policy and submit the required family notification/request through the school’s procedure.
- Confirm provider eligibility and enrollment separately, including course location, supervision and liability arrangements.
- Agree on actual departure and return times, travel, pickup/return handoff and a plan for canceled sessions.
- Confirm how the provider supplies attendance records and how the child receives and makes up schoolwork.
- Ask for a distinct written basis for any academic-credit claim or school-property authorization.
These practical questions identify missing implementation records; they are not additional statutory conditions invented by this tracker.
Research priorities and why eleven candidates have no full page
Detailed pages require dated primary records and distinct questions that matter to families. The broader table keeps promising research leads visible without treating a general policy, provider claim or historical account as proof of a current program. These are research priorities, not compliance grades or program-quality ratings.
Newton has recent reported Aurora Heights activity, but this edition did not locate sufficient final primary documents for a standalone page. Lake Mills needs the original agreement and signed record behind an indexed approval. Des Moines, Boyden-Hull, Aplington-Parkersburg, Ankeny and Mason City need current district corroboration. Waterloo has an official public request, not a verified later adoption. Linn-Mar, East Union and Maquoketa Valley have useful general policies but too little distinctive provider implementation for full trackers.
Next updates should record a dated transition: proposal → final policy or agreement → announced launch → corroborated operation. A new policy review date alone should not change program status to active.
Frequently asked questions
How many hours of religious instruction can Iowa students leave school for?
For a request satisfying all statutory conditions, §299.1D requires at least one and no more than five hours of release per week. Confirm the actual departure, return and travel schedule with the school. Source
Must an Iowa school allow a qualifying released-time request?
Yes. The duty in subsection 2 covers school districts and accredited nonpublic schools when all subsection 1 conditions are satisfied. It does not require attendance or select a named provider. Source
Does Iowa require a statewide written permission form?
§299.1D requires notification and a request by the parent, guardian or legal/actual custodian, or an emancipated minor. It does not prescribe one statewide form; local release documentation must be checked. Source
Who provides Iowa LifeWise transportation?
The statutory responsibility belongs to the private organization, parent/guardian/custodian or child. Actual operator and payer arrangements differ and need local records; district transport is not guaranteed by this section. Source
Can a course meet in an Iowa school building?
The statute restricts school district property use unless the board authorizes it under §297.9. The exception is conditional and does not automatically approve a particular provider or location. Source
Do students have to make up missed schoolwork?
Yes. Agreement to make up schoolwork not completed during the religious course is a condition of qualifying release. Source
Does qualifying released time count toward chronic absenteeism?
§299.12(1)(a) excludes absences related to a qualifying §299.1D course from the chronic-absence calculation. That does not waive missed work. Source
Can a parent sue an Iowa district over released time?
Subsection 3 permits eligible claimants alleging a school-district violation to seek injunctive relief and actual damages. A prevailing plaintiff receives reasonable costs and attorney fees. The statute does not guarantee success or establish that a particular lawsuit exists. Source
Does Iowa award high-school credit for Bible class?
§299.1D itself creates no automatic academic-credit award. A specific credit claim needs an independent current legal and district basis. Source
When did Iowa’s current released-time law take effect?
The 2025 legislative report gives July 1, 2025 as the effective date for HF 870 §2 and SF 659 §13, which created and amended the current section. Source
Source and document library
Page research baseline: October 8, 2026. Source type and document vintage are shown below. A provider statement, agenda and final adopted policy establish different facts.
- Iowa Code §299.1D — religious instruction (2026)
Current statute. Operative conditions, mandatory 1–5-hour release and civil remedies; baseline October 8, 2026.
- Iowa Code §297.9 — use of school buildings and grounds
Current statute. Cross-reference for school-board authorization, terms, compensation and noninterference with school activities.
- Iowa Code §299.12 — chronic absence
Current statute. Subsection 1(a) excludes qualifying §299.1D attendance from the chronic-absence calculation.
- Iowa Legislature — 2025 sections amended report
Official legislative history. HF 870 §2 created §299.1D; SF 659 §13 amended subsection 1(f). Both effective July 1, 2025. Signature dates June 6 and June 11 respectively.
- Iowa Legislature — 2026 sections amended report
Official legislative history. No later amendment to §299.1D or §297.9 was located in this report at the October 8 review. This is a dated search finding.
- Mid-Prairie policy manual — 501.11 Student Release During School Hours
Official district policy. Locate 501.11 in this printable manual. Revised August 10, 2026; first adopted November 25, 1996. Generic release policy, not a LifeWise operating agreement.
- Mid-Prairie — March 23, 2026 work-session record
Official board minutes. LifeWise proposal, one-grade pilot and proposed church location. Presentation is not adoption or verified operation.
- Mid-Prairie — May 11, 2026 minutes
Official board minutes. East Elementary proposal and acknowledgment request; follow-up scheduled for June 8.
- Mid-Prairie — June 8, 2026 minutes
Official board minutes. Board took no action on LifeWise acknowledgment letter. No-action is not a recorded rejection.
- Mid-Prairie — July 13, 2026 minutes
Official board minutes. First reading of 501.11 passed 6–0.
- Mid-Prairie — August 10, 2026 minutes
Official board minutes. Second reading of 501.11 passed 5–0; matches revised date in policy manual.
- East Mills — April 9, 2025 board minutes, published May 1
Official minutes reproduced as legal notice. Jones motion, Carter second; approval of LifeWise released-time program passed 5–0. This predates the July 2025 state law. Reviewed through the indexed document copy; the original PDF URL returned 404 during final availability checking. A replacement district-hosted copy is a follow-up priority.
- East Mills Elementary — 2025–26 handbook
Official district handbook. Historical 2025–26 handbook references 501.11 and office pickup. Not presented as a final 2026–27 LifeWise procedure.
- East Mills launch plans — Opinion-Tribune, August 26, 2025
Local reporting with named school official. Historical launch logistics; complements the primary board approval. No 2026 enrollment or operating claim is carried forward.
- Chariton — November 17, 2025 minutes in December 1 council packet
Official municipal record. Initial community-center lease: four weekdays, January 5–May 22, 2026; $120 weekly; five ayes. City action, not school-board action.
- Chariton — February 2, 2026 council minutes
Official municipal minutes. Amended to Mondays, January 5–May 18, 2026, $30 weekly; five ayes, none opposed.
- Chariton — September 8, 2026 council minutes, published September 18
Reproduced municipal notice. Use the Full Notice Text, not the site’s AI summary about an unrelated Braden Avenue item. LifeWise lease approved 3–0 for Mondays September 14, 2026–May 17, 2027. This reproduction redacts the rent amount; no amount is inferred.
- Chariton — official council agendas and minutes
Official archive. Archive for following facility votes and obtaining original signed agreements. No district operating roster is supplied by a city lease.
- Osage — September 22, 2025 school-board minutes
Official district minutes. Superintendent report documents meeting Anodos Academy and discussing departure times. No Anodos approval vote in that item.
- Osage superintendent’s family letter, hosted by Anodos
District-authored letter on provider host. Printed date is January 8, 2025, but the text refers to the law signed in 2025 and a planned mid-February class. The date conflict is retained; an original corrected district copy is needed.
- Anodos Academy — spring 2026 released-time announcement
Provider announcement. Advertised grades, Thursday class and bus times. Header and logistics disagree about the final May date. This is not independent proof of actual attendance or a fall 2026 schedule.
- Osage — official archived board records
Official district archive. Links the September 2025 record and newer Simbli board portal. No final released-time-specific policy or current attendance roster was verified in this review.
- Newton board discussion — Newton Daily News, June 26, 2026
Local reporting. Off-site Aurora Heights proposal for 2026–27; current final district policy, exact board disposition and operating attendance not located.
- Lake Mills — June 8, 2026 record lead
Third-party minutes index. Index describes LifeWise under partnerships/agreements. Original agreement and full signed vote remain needed. The index’s government-contract label is not accepted as evidence of public spending.
- Des Moines — reported Garton Elementary pilot
Local reporting. January 2026 pilot reported; final district documents and present operating status need verification.
- Boyden-Hull — September 2022 launch account
Local sponsor account. Historical launch account, not proof of current district policy or a 2026 roster.
- Waterloo — August 12, 2024 board minutes
Official district minutes. Public request for released-time policy; the public-comment item is not an adoption vote. Reviewed through an indexed copy; the original PDF URL returned 404 during final availability checking. A current archive copy is needed.
- LifeWise Iowa announcement — June 15, 2026
Provider press release, republished. Names Aplington-Parkersburg among expansion communities. Statewide provider counts and claims of district operation are not independently adopted here.
- Ankeny — Keystone Church group listing
Community organization biography. Mentions a LifeWise teaching role in Ankeny. A lead only; no participating-school roster or district release procedure is established.
- Mason City — third-party program listing
Advocacy-maintained discovery lead. August 2026 listing prompts further research. Its school counts and operating-status label are not treated as verified district evidence.
- Linn-Mar — Policy 501.1 Compulsory Attendance
Official district policy. Contains qualifying religious-instruction exception; no provider operation follows from this general policy.
- East Union — Policy 501.11 Student Release During School Hours
Official district policy. Generic release policy lists religious instruction; review date March 24, 2026. No current provider arrangement verified.
- Maquoketa Valley — Policy 501.11 Student Release During School Hours
Official district policy. Approved/reviewed July 21, 2025; general parent/principal release terms, no verified program timetable.
Update log and next records
October 8, 2026 — Indiana network links added. Added reciprocal Indiana navigation. Earlier factual research baseline remains October 8, 2026.
Published source-linked law and local findings, preserving the distinction between policy, provider plans, facility approval and operation.
Next review: new enacted amendments, final local policies, implementation procedures and corroborated launch outcomes. Updates require a dated source and a stated change. No automatic monitoring schedule is active. Submit a documented correction · Editorial standards.
Explore the released-time network
National district policy database and comparison tool
National laws and research register · Indiana law and district status · Iowa law and district status · Ohio law and district status · North Carolina law and district status · Texas SB 1049 and district status · Bedford County, Tennessee
Wake County · Cumberland County / Fayetteville · Edenton-Chowan · Bladen County / Bladenboro · Texarkana ISD · Plano ISD · Houston ISD · Westerville · Upper Arlington · Hilliard · Twinsburg · Mid-Prairie · East Mills · Chariton · Osage · Mt. Vernon · West Lafayette · MSD Washington Township · West Central