Skip to content

NATIONAL RESEARCH DATABASE · OCTOBER 8, 2026

School District Religious Instruction Policy Database

Find the policy. Check the evidence. Compare the rules.

Search district records across the released-time religious instruction network, including LifeWise and other providers. Distinguish what state law requires, what a district has adopted, and whether a program is documented.

62district research records
6states with district coverage
11state entries · 2 pending

THE STATE FRAMEWORK

Released-time religious instruction laws by state

Six states have district coverage. Three additional entries preserve limited primary-source summaries; California and Wisconsin remain pending primary verification. Tennessee is a partial comparison using enacted legislative histories. No new state trackers are added.

State-law comparison — edition baseline October 8, 2026
StateLaw status / source vintageRelease allowanceAcademic creditConditions and evidence
North CarolinaRequired under conditionsG.S. 115C-407.45; July 7, 2026; 2026–27 implementation1–4 hours per calendar weekNo credit entitlement in this section.
Rules & sources for North Carolina
Consent / attendance
Signed standard parent/guardian form; parent supplies daily attendance documentation.
Transport / work
Parent arranges travel; missed schoolwork must be made up.
Core subjects
No blanket core-course prohibition specified in reviewed section; check local policy.
Property / funds
No State/local funds except de minimis administration; school-property exception for neutral facility-use policies.
Screening
Not specified in reviewed section.
Insurance
Not specified in reviewed section.
Remedy
No special remedy normalized from this section.

State requirements only; local schedules and provider compliance require separate evidence.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

North Carolina SL 2026-41, §7.54
North Carolina SL 2026-61, §3.11
TexasRequired under conditionsEducation Code §25.0875; effective September 1, 20251–5 hours per weekNot specified in reviewed section.
Rules & sources for Texas
Consent / attendance
Written parent consent; provider keeps attendance.
Transport / work
Provider, parent or student; includes disability access. Student responsible for missed work.
Core subjects
No blanket core-course prohibition specified in §25.0875.
Property / funds
No district spending except de minimis costs; neutral equal-access community-use property exception.
Screening
Not specified in reviewed §25.0875.
Insurance
Private entity assumes responsibility and liability; no insurance amount specified.
Remedy
Policy must not interfere with the qualifying parental request; no separate damages remedy normalized.

State requirements only; local schedules and provider compliance require separate evidence.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

SB 1049 enrolled text: Education Code §25.0875 and implementation dates
OhioRequired under conditionsORC §3313.6022; effective January 19, 2026At least 1 period/week. Default maximum: 2 periods/week in elementary/middle school; high school time equivalent to 2 credit units/week. Board policy may specify otherwise.Board may award up to 2 high-school units using secular criteria.
Rules & sources for Ohio
Consent / attendance
Written parent consent; provider records attendance.
Transport / work
Provider/parent/guardian/student, including disability access. No release from core courses.
Core subjects
No release from core-curriculum subjects; high-school scheduling exceptions in the statute.
Property / funds
Off school-district property; no public funding/personnel for instruction; private provider assumes liability. See full statute for scheduling exceptions.
Screening
§3313.6030 permits a board to require instructor/volunteer criminal-record checks.
Insurance
Provider assumes liability; no statewide policy-dollar minimum specified here.
Remedy
Statute limits district liability for injury during transport. Read complete conditions.

State requirements only; local schedules and provider compliance require separate evidence.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

Ohio Revised Code §3313.6022 — current law
Ohio Revised Code §3313.6030 — criminal records checks
IndianaRequired under conditionsIC §20-33-2-19; official 2026 Code reviewed October 8, 2026Elementary: up to 120 min/week; secondary: time for 1 elective course/weekUp to 2 elective credits under board policy and statutory safeguards.
Rules & sources for Indiana
Consent / attendance
Parent written notice valid for school year; provider attendance records.
Transport / work
Principal and provider coordinate least-disruptive timing; confirm local travel plan.
Core subjects
Principal and provider collaborate on least-disruptive timing; no blanket core ban in §19.
Property / funds
Public funds prohibited; secondary credit safeguards include screening and liability insurance.
Screening
Optional secondary credit requires provider agreement to expanded criminal-history and child-protection-index checks for relevant employees/contractors.
Insurance
Optional secondary credit requires liability insurance for off-property services or transport; no amount set in §19.
Remedy
No dedicated enforcement remedy specified in reviewed §19.

State requirements only; local schedules and provider compliance require separate evidence.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

Indiana Code 2026 §20-33-2-19
State Board of Accounts — June 2025 School Bulletin
IowaRequired under conditionsIowa Code 2026 §299.1D; 2025 Acts chapters 143 and 1591–5 hours per weekNot specified in reviewed section.
Rules & sources for Iowa
Consent / attendance
Notification by parent/custodian or emancipated student; provider records.
Transport / work
Provider, parent/custodian or student; missed work must be made up.
Core subjects
No blanket core-subject restriction specified in §299.1D.
Property / funds
No school spending except de minimis notification/attendance costs; property use possible under §297.9.
Screening
Not specified in reviewed §299.1D.
Insurance
Provider assumes liability; no insurance amount specified in this section.
Remedy
§299.1D provides civil relief, damages and attorney-fee provisions; see statute for eligible claims.

State requirements only; local schedules and provider compliance require separate evidence.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

Iowa Code §299.1D — religious instruction (2026)
Iowa Code §297.9 — use of school buildings and grounds
Iowa Code §299.12 — chronic absence
TennesseeBedford County contextRequired under conditionsTCA §49-2-130; 2025 chapter 401 amendmentsConditional parent right: up to 1 hour/day; board-policy provision: 1 class period/dayUp to 1 elective unit per course under qualifying board policy.
Rules & sources for Tennessee
Consent / attendance
Conditional parental request; full consent/attendance conditions not normalized from current consolidated primary text.
Transport / work
Ordinarily private transportation; 2020 enacted record permits LEA transportation with provider reimbursement. Make-up-work rule not normalized.
Core subjects
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Property / funds
Current consolidated facility and public-resource conditions not reverified; see Bedford tracker for source-qualified context.
Screening
As amended in 2025: identify instructors and persons near pupils; initial checks before 2025–26 or service, then every five years; provider certifies no disqualifying §49-5-417(a) conviction to LEA.
Insurance
Full current consolidated conditions require further primary-text review.
Remedy
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records

Partial primary-source comparison: 2020, 2023 and 2025 enacted bill histories/summaries. Current consolidated statute was not obtained from an official source.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

Tennessee General Assembly: HB2542, Public Chapter 743 (2020)
Tennessee General Assembly: HB0680, Public Chapter 130 (2023)
Tennessee General Assembly: SB1332 as amended, Public Chapter 401 (2025)
CaliforniaPrimary verification pendingEducation Code §46014; local board discretionUnknown — not established by reviewed primary recordsUnknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Rules & sources for California
Consent / attendance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Transport / work
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Core subjects
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Property / funds
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Screening
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Insurance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Remedy
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records

Previous network summary used a statutory reproduction. Primary text could not be rechecked; legal fields withheld from this comparison.

Last verified: 2026-10-07

MichiganExpressly permittedMCL §380.1561(3)(d); MDE excerpt reviewedUp to 2 class hours per weekNot specified in reviewed subsection.
Rules & sources for Michigan
Consent / attendance
Written parent/guardian request.
Transport / work
Attendance exception for offsite instruction; transport not specified in subsection.
Core subjects
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Property / funds
Instruction outside public school buildings; broader fiscal rules not reviewed. Excerpt vintage: 2022.
Screening
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Insurance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Remedy
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records

Limited prior review: 2022 state-agency excerpt; not a full 2026 amendment audit.

Last verified: 2026-10-07

Michigan MDE copy of MCL §380.1561
MinnesotaExpressly permitted§120A.22 subd.12(a)(3); official 2025 codeUp to 3 hours per weekNot specified in reviewed clause.
Rules & sources for Minnesota
Consent / attendance
Parent/guardian application; board may approve.
Transport / work
Transport not specified in reviewed clause.
Core subjects
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Property / funds
Outside public school buildings; no public expense. Clause also covers Tribal spiritual/cultural instruction.
Screening
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Insurance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Remedy
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records

Official 2025 statutory edition; limited attendance-exemption review.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

Minnesota Statutes §120A.22, subd. 12
OregonExpressly permittedORS §339.420; official 2025 editionElementary: up to 2 hours/week; secondary: up to 5Not specified in reviewed section.
Rules & sources for Oregon
Consent / attendance
Application by parent/guardian or student who has reached majority.
Transport / work
Transport and missed-work rules not specified in this subsection.
Core subjects
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Property / funds
No facility/funding conclusion drawn from this short provision; chapter flags 2026 changes.
Screening
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Insurance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Remedy
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records

Official 2025 edition; chapter flags subsequent 2026 session changes. Limited §339.420 review.

Last verified: 2026-10-08

Oregon Revised Statutes §339.420
WisconsinPrimary verification pending§118.155; 2025 statutory text reviewedUnknown — not established by reviewed primary recordsUnknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Rules & sources for Wisconsin
Consent / attendance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Transport / work
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Core subjects
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Property / funds
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Screening
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Insurance
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records
Remedy
Unknown — not established by reviewed primary records

Previous network summary used a statutory reproduction. Primary text could not be rechecked; legal fields withheld from this comparison.

Last verified: 2026-10-07

HOW TO READ THE EVIDENCE

Methodology and status definitions

1. Read the source in context

Current statutes and enacted amendments come first, followed by adopted district policies, signed minutes, official agendas, school notices, state agencies and court records. An agenda or first reading proves consideration, not adoption.

2. Keep the claims separate

Provider statements and independent reporting can identify leads or add chronology. They do not establish district participation on their own. Draft, historical and proposed terms remain labeled in source-qualified context.

3. Preserve the date and the gap

“Last verified” is the record’s documented review date, not the source publication date. October 8 is the normalization date. Missing dates remain unknown; relative dates are not converted to invented calendar days.

Policy: Yes
An adopted policy or official adoption record was located. The full text, latest revision or implementation can still be unavailable; see the evidence boundary.
Policy: Pending
A proposal or reading is documented or source-qualified; final adoption is unresolved.
Policy: Not located
Current final policy evidence is insufficient. This is different from an affirmative finding of no policy.
Program: Operating
A dated official school or district record describes actual activity. The label is bounded by that source date and school.
Program: Approved / Proposed
Approval or a proposal concerns a named program. Neither establishes attendance. Facility and transport votes are identified separately.
Program: Unknown
Current operation is not established. Historical activity, an announced launch, provider marketing or absence of a search result does not resolve it.
Other available statuses
No, Not applicable, Announced, Rejected, Pending and No program located are reserved for supported findings. Unused values do not appear as empty filters in this edition.
Research lead
Participation and policy conclusions are withheld pending a primary record. A source listing here is not a certification of its claims.

County/locality is populated only when established in the existing record. The local weekly-time filter does not import state limits, convert periods into minutes or include draft schedules. School rosters are published only to their documented scope.

For broader legal history and the National → State → District network, read the national released-time religious instruction hub.

Download the dated research data

Exports contain the same classifications, dates, unknowns and evidence boundaries as this page. The district file includes research leads clearly marked; it is not a list of verified operating programs. State-law CSV includes two pending entries with legal findings withheld.

Baseline: . Exports are generated from the same source records as the page.

Common questions

Which school districts allow LifeWise?

A district release policy permits qualifying instruction; it does not necessarily approve or operate LifeWise. Use the provider filter to find records naming LifeWise, then read the approval scope, source date and program status. This is a selected research database, not a complete national participation list.

Does “not located” mean a district has no policy?

No. It means the reviewed records did not establish a current final policy. It is not a finding of noncompliance, rejection or absence. “No” requires affirmative evidence; this edition does not assign that value without it.

Can I compare religious-instruction policies across states?

Yes. Select two to four districts. The comparison presents state-law requirements first, district-policy findings second, and provider/program evidence separately. A state ceiling is not a verified local timetable.

Does approved mean a program is operating?

No. Approval can precede operation, and a lease or bus-rental approval may concern only a facility or vehicle. Operating status requires a dated official school or district record of actual activity. Historical approval and current attendance remain separate.

How much released time is permitted?

The answer depends on state law, grade band and local policy. Some laws use hours, others class periods or course-time equivalents. The local-time filter uses only supported current local allowances; it never converts class periods into invented minutes.

Can students earn academic credit?

Release from class and attendance credit are different from academic course credit. Ohio and Indiana have conditional academic-credit frameworks, and Tennessee enacted a one-unit course provision. Local authorization and course approval must be checked separately.

How current is the database?

The edition baseline is October 8, 2026. Every district retains its prior verification date; normalization is not a fresh check of every source. Dated, undated and historical documents remain labeled, and missing information is not filled by assumption.

Update log

October 8, 2026 — First database edition. Consolidated 62 district research records and 11 state entries from the existing network. Added comparable fields, provenance categories, search, filters, 2–4 district comparison and dated exports. Reconciled North Carolina’s amendment, current Ohio and Iowa provisions, Texas enacted text and Tennessee enacted-history distinctions. No new state expansion.

Submit a correction with the district name, exact policy or meeting date, and primary document link. New evidence should change only the fields it establishes; keep a dated change note.