Skip to main content
WorthFighting.org

Published reference page

Records checked September 29, 2026. Research baseline: September 29, 2026. No automated updates are running. A hearing date passing does not automatically change a project's status.

Ball Ground · Cherokee County · Georgia

What's Being Built in Ball Ground?

Development proposals, rezoning decisions and the records behind them. What was requested, what was approved and what is actually built are different questions.

Four selected case histories; not a comprehensive permit or construction inventory. Where evidence is missing, the gap stays visible.

4Selected case historiesNot a complete city inventory
1Final reading verifiedAlma Coffee · June 11 minutes
11Subdivision snapshot rowsSeparate city table · September 3

A decision history — not another project map

The city already provides a Projects and Applications Map. This tracker adds source-linked explanations and separates proposed conditions from adopted requirements. Individual city map entries have not been audited.

Read the statuses separately: "Not verified" does not mean no permit exists. "Unknown" does not mean no construction occurred.

Showing 4 of 4 selected project records. Filters do not change the separate housing snapshot.

BG-01 / IndustrialSection link ↗

LDS Farms industrial proposal

A 160,000-square-foot industrial proposal with an October 1 hearing listed. A final decision is not established in this edition. S01 · S02 · S03

LAND USEHearing listed; final decision unverified
PERMITSNot verified
CONSTRUCTIONUnknown

Applicant: John Loyd, LDS Farms, LLC · Recorded case labels: 2026-A-01, 2026-AR-01, 2026-R-01

Location, proposal and record history
Location
0, 7381 and 7583 Ball Ground Highway S01
Proposed floor area
160,000 sq ft S01 · S02
Site acres
40.26 S02, p. 30
Existing zoning (as reported)
Estate Residential (R-80, County) S01
Requested zoning
Light Industrial (LI, City) S01
Jurisdiction
Annexation from county jurisdiction requested; city notice is not proof of completed annexation. S01

Record history

  1. Work-session presentation describes the proposal and staff recommendations. S02
  2. First readings listed on agenda; outcome not established. S03
  3. Public hearing scheduled in notice; future as of the research cutoff.Scheduled S01

Use project ID, applicant, location, jurisdiction and source date together. Case labels differ across records and are not unique project identifiers.

Conditions to follow

Staff recommendations only — not verified as adopted. Compliance has not been assessed.

SubjectStaff recommendationEvidence
AccessSingle highway entrance aligned with Northridge Road, with a deceleration lane. S02, p. 34
LoadingDocks to the side or rear, not visible from the road. S02, p. 34
Buffers50-foot highway buffer; 75-foot undisturbed I-575 buffer. S02, p. 36
PedestriansSix-foot frontage sidewalk and pedestrian connections. S02, p. 36

Still unverified: Final annexation and rezoning actions; Adopted conditions and final plan; Matching permit records; Dated evidence of physical work.

Records checked 2026-09-29. A record's event date may be earlier.

BG-02 / Commercial / industrialSection link ↗

Alma Coffee rezoning

Approved minutes record passage of the final rezoning reading on June 11. This is not a verified opening date or construction report. S05 · S06 · S07

LAND USEFinal rezoning reading approved
PERMITSNot verified
CONSTRUCTIONUnknown

Applicant: Alma Coffee, LLC · Recorded case labels: 2026-R-01

Location, proposal and record history
Location
10061 Ball Ground Highway S05
Parcel
04N04 010B S05
Site acres
6.5 (approximate) S05
Existing zoning (as reported)
Agricultural (AG) S05
Requested zoning
Light Industrial (LI) and General Commercial (GC) S05
Final reading date
2026-06-11 S07, p. 1, 2

Record history

  1. First rezoning reading approved unanimously. S06
  2. Final rezoning reading approved unanimously. S07

Do not merge with LDS Farms because a separate September agenda reuses the 2026-R-01 label.

Still unverified: Full enacted ordinance and attachments; Final approved zoning geometry; Matching permits and construction evidence; Any supported opening date.

Records checked 2026-09-29. A record's event date may be earlier.

BG-03 / ResidentialSection link ↗

1065 Cartersville Street

A zoning-condition request would increase the unit cap from 38 to 42. The later decision is not established in this edition. S03 · S04 · S08

LAND USECondition change requested; outcome unverified
PERMITSNot verified
CONSTRUCTIONUnknown

Applicant: KM Homes · Recorded case labels: 2026-V-01, 2024-R-03

Location, proposal and record history
Location
1065 Cartersville Street S04, p. 23
Site acres
9.12 S04, p. 23
Applicant
KM Homes S03, p. 1
Previous cap (as referenced)
38 S08
Requested unit cap
42 S08 · S04
Proposed housing type
Single-family detached S04, p. 23
Existing zoning (as reported)
Residential Zero Lot Line (RZL) S04, p. 23

Record history

  1. Public hearing scheduled in notice for a change to earlier conditions.Scheduled S08
  2. First reading listed on agenda; presentation describes the proposal. Outcome unverified. S03 · S04

The requested increase is four units of zoning capacity; 42 is not a count of building permits or homes built.

Still unverified: Outcome of September 10 item; Final amendment and conditions; Matching permit and construction records.

Records checked 2026-09-29. A record's event date may be earlier.

BG-04 / ResidentialSection link ↗

Gilmer Ferry Phase II

A proposal for 29 detached-home lots on 11.45 acres. September first readings were listed, but the subsequent decision is not established here. S03 · S04

LAND USEFirst readings listed; outcome unverified
PERMITSNot verified
CONSTRUCTIONUnknown

Applicant: Lee Lusk · Recorded case labels: 2025-A-05, 2025-R-05

Location, proposal and record history
Location
0 Ball Ground Road S04, p. 10, 11
Site acres
11.45 S04, p. 10, 11
Proposed lots
29 S04, p. 10, 11
Proposed housing type
Single-family detached S04, p. 10, 11
Requested zoning
Traditional Neighborhood Development (TND) S04, p. 10, 11
Phase connection
Internal connection to Phase I proposed S04, p. 10, 11
Applicant
Lee Lusk S03, p. 1

Record history

  1. Annexation and rezoning first readings listed on agenda; presentation describes Phase II. Outcome unverified. S03 · S04

Ball Ground Road is not Ball Ground Highway. Keep Phase II distinct from Phase I and from the industrial proposal.

Still unverified: Subsequent annexation and rezoning decisions; Adopted conditions and final site plan; Matching permits and dated construction evidence.

Records checked 2026-09-29. A record's event date may be earlier.

City-reported snapshot / 2026-09-03 presentation

Approved homes are not completed homes

The city's table reports 642 approved units, 144 permitted and 498 remaining across these rows. Separate data-extraction date not stated. Source: presentation, page 43 ↗

SubdivisionApprovedPermittedRemaining
Malones Pond663828
Marble Tree885137
Valley Park271116
Ball Ground Brook43043
The Ridge at Farmers Crossing1358
Heritage at Farmers Crossing17170
Bleckley Station (Pulte)13912127
1882 at Old Canton17107
Roberts East80080
Olde Mill Phase 335035
Southern Sky1170117
Reported total642144498

City-reported snapshot, not completed-home counts or a construction schedule. Malones Pond shows 38 (+1); retain 38 as displayed. Do not add proposals or treat these rows as additional fully researched case histories.

Separate administrative record

The October 1 notice lists Georgia Power transmission easement at 1583 Ball Ground Highway, case 2026-A-01B, with no proposed change in use or improvements. It is not counted as a new building project. S01

Questions about the records

Does rezoning approval mean construction has started?

No. This tracker records land-use decisions, permits and dated physical progress separately. A missing record here does not establish that no work occurred. S09

Where is the official development map?

The city’s GIS page links a Projects and Applications Map. This tracker complements those resources with dated decision histories; individual map entries have not been audited for this edition. S10

Why not identify projects by case number alone?

The Alma Coffee minutes and a separate John Loyd agenda item both use 2026-R-01. Preserve the applicant, location and source date; do not merge these properties or invent a corrected case number. S03 · S07

What does “unknown” mean?

It describes a fact not established by the reviewed evidence. “Not located” refers to a document not found in this source set, not proof that it does not exist.

What this edition does not establish

  • No complete permit-portal audit or site inspection was performed.
  • Selected approved minutes, agendas, notices and presentation materials were reviewed.
  • Individual entries or geometry from the city’s interactive map were not audited.
  • Some PDF screenshots failed; supporting text was available. The subdivision table and key proposal pages were visually checked.
  • No keyword volume, Google Search Console or ranking-position data was obtained.
  • The city meeting page for September 10 surfaced an agenda, not a verified later decision in this review.

Update rule: change a finding only when a new attributable record supports it. A hearing date passing does not automatically change a project's status.

Official source library

Open the underlying record and check its event date. A later research date does not make an older event current.

S01
October 1, 2026 public hearing notice

Official notice · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: LDS Farms application, locations, proposed size and scheduled hearing; separate Georgia Power administrative case.

Does not establish: A final vote, adopted conditions, permits or construction.

S02
September 3, 2026 work-session presentation

Official presentation · 2026-09-03 · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Industrial proposal, staff-recommended conditions, a hearing reference, and the city’s dated subdivision snapshot.

Does not establish: Adoption of recommended conditions, compliance, individual permit files or homes completed.

S03
September 10, 2026 council agenda

Agenda · 2026-09-10 · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Listed first-reading items, applicant names and case labels.

Does not establish: Whether an item was considered, tabled, approved, denied or amended.

S04
September 10, 2026 council presentation

Official presentation · 2026-09-10 · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Gilmer Ferry Phase II and Cartersville Street proposal descriptions.

Does not establish: Subsequent decisions, final conditions, permits or construction.

S05
Alma Coffee hearing notice

Official notice · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Alma Coffee applicant, address, parcel, approximate acreage and requested zoning.

Does not establish: Final approved zoning geometry, permits or an opening date.

S06
Approved May 14, 2026 council minutes

Approved minutes · 2026-05-14 · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Unanimous approval of Alma Coffee’s first rezoning reading.

Does not establish: Final approval, full enacted ordinance, permits or construction.

S07
Approved June 11, 2026 council minutes

Approved minutes · 2026-06-11 · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Unanimous approval of Alma Coffee’s final rezoning reading.

Does not establish: Full enacted ordinance and attachments, permits or construction.

S08
September 3, 2026 zoning-condition hearing notice

Official notice · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: 2026-V-01 request to change 2024-R-03 conditions, including a cap increase from 38 to 42.

Does not establish: Approval of the requested change or a count of issued building permits.

S09
Planning and zoning information

Official service page · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: Separate planning, rezoning and permit functions; published review process.

Does not establish: An individual case’s latest outcome or permit status.

S10
GIS and mapping resources

Official service page · Publication date not stated · Checked 2026-09-29

Establishes: The city provides a Projects and Applications Map and property mapping resources.

Does not establish: Accuracy or currency of individual map entries; those entries were not audited.

Worth Fighting · Ball Ground development tracker · Records checked September 29, 2026. Prepared with AI assistance from the linked public records. Editorial review and live-site integration remain outstanding.