Skip to main content
WorthFighting.org

Crime & Safety

Duluth Police Make the Arrest. What Happens Next in Gwinnett County?

Duluth, Gwinnett County County, Georgia

Duluth police can arrest a suspect in minutes. But what happens after that person enters Gwinnett County's court system? We examined DA caseloads, jail population, conviction rates, bond laws, and Georgia's rising recidivism rate to trace the path from arrest to resolution — and found significant data gaps along the way.

By WorthFighting.org Staff, Editorial StaffAug 16, 2026 11 min read
Gwinnett County Justice and Administration Center in Lawrenceville, Georgia. The building houses Superior Court, State Court, and other county judicial functions.
The Gwinnett Justice and Administration Center in Lawrenceville, where most felony cases originating from Duluth arrests are prosecuted. — Gwinnett County / Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 3.0)

Key Takeaways

  • •Georgia's 3-year recidivism rate hit a decade high of 31.6% in FY2023, up from 23.3% in FY2019 — meaning roughly 1 in 3 released inmates are reconvicted within 3 years.
  • •Gwinnett County has 59 ADAs for 1.01M residents (one per 17,100) — roughly half the staffing ratio of Fulton and DeKalb counties. ADA caseloads exceed 600 per attorney.
  • •The DA's office opened more cases than it closed in 2023 and 2024, growing the pending caseload. The first half of 2025 showed improvement, closing 114 more cases than it opened.
  • •Conviction rates at trial are strong: 80% in 2023, 90% in 2024, 100% on homicide cases in 2025.
  • •Georgia's 2023 bail reform law (SB 63) expanded cash-bail requirements to 30 additional offenses including some misdemeanors.
  • •Duluth PD does not publish arrest statistics, and Gwinnett County does not publish repeat-booking data — making it impossible to definitively determine whether a small group of repeat offenders drives a disproportionate share of local arrests.
  • •The Gwinnett County Jail houses approximately 2,250 inmates at 85% capacity.
  • •The DA's budget grew 20% from 2024 ($25.2M) to 2025 ($30.3M).

Duluth police officers make arrests. But an arrest is only the beginning of a long process that moves through Gwinnett County's jail, magistrate court, superior court, and the District Attorney's Office. This investigation traces what happens after a Duluth arrest — and examines whether the system that follows is keeping pace with Gwinnett's growing population.

An important note before the data: an arrest is not a conviction. A criminal charge is an allegation unless and until guilt is established through the court process. Throughout this article, we distinguish arrest, charge, bond, prosecution, conviction, and disposition — because conflating them misleads readers and harms the integrity of the record.

The Path: Arrest → Jail → Court → Resolution

When Duluth Police make an arrest, the suspect is typically transported to the Gwinnett County Jail at 2900 University Parkway in Lawrenceville. From there, the case moves through a defined sequence under Georgia law:

  1. Booking — the suspect is processed into the jail
  2. First Appearance — within 72 hours, the defendant appears before a magistrate judge who explains the charges and rights
  3. Bond — the magistrate sets bond (or denies it for certain offenses)
  4. Preliminary Hearing — for felonies, a probable-cause hearing in magistrate or state court
  5. Indictment — for felonies, a grand jury determines whether to formally charge
  6. Arraignment — the defendant enters a plea
  7. Prosecution — the District Attorney's Office handles the case through resolution
  8. Resolution — plea, trial, dismissal, or diversion

Gwinnett County operates six courts that handle criminal matters: Superior Court (felonies), State Court (misdemeanors), Magistrate Court (warrants, first appearances, bonds), Recorder's Court (traffic), Juvenile Court, and Accountability Courts (Drug Court, DUI Court, Mental Health Court, Veterans' Treatment Court).

What Happens After an Arrest? Georgia's Bond System

Under Georgia law (O.C.G.A. § 17-6-1), most offenses are bailable — meaning a judge must set a bond that allows release while the case is pending. The main exceptions are capital offenses (treason, murder, rape) where bond can be denied.

Bond in Gwinnett County can take several forms:

  • Cash bond — the defendant or family pays the full amount in cash
  • Property bond — real estate is pledged as collateral
  • Surety bond — a licensed bondsman posts bond for a fee (typically 10-15%)
  • Recognizance release — the defendant signs a promise to appear, with no money required

In 2023, the Georgia legislature passed Senate Bill 63, which expanded the list of offenses requiring cash or property bond before release. The law added approximately 30 additional offenses — including some misdemeanors like shoplifting, criminal trespass, and marijuana possession — to the cash-bail requirement. Supporters, including sponsor Sen. Randy Robertson (R-Cataula), argued the law targets repeat offenders. Critics, including the ACLU of Georgia, cited research showing that even two days in detention makes a person 40% more likely to reoffend than someone released within 24 hours.

The law does not call lawful pretrial release a "loophole" — it changes which offenses are eligible for recognizance release. Whether this has reduced rearrest rates in Gwinnett County cannot be determined from available public data.

The District Attorney's Office: Caseload and Staffing

The Gwinnett County District Attorney's Office, led by DA Patsy Austin-Gatson, prosecutes felonies in Superior Court and handles juvenile court cases. The office's own budget presentations reveal significant workload pressure.

Assistant District Attorney Staffing Comparison (2024):

CountyADAsPopulation
Fulton1361.12M
Gwinnett591.01M
DeKalb98783K

Gwinnett has 59 ADAs serving over one million residents — roughly one ADA per 17,100 residents. Fulton County has one per 8,200; DeKalb has one per 8,000. The DA's 2025 budget request acknowledged that "assistant district attorneys carry caseloads exceeding 600 per attorney" and described a "significant backlog." The office requested 7 additional ADA positions for 2025.

DA Budget Growth:

YearTotal Budget Request
2024$25,240,187
2025$30,338,694
2026New requests for 2 Supervising ADAs + 1 Investigator

The DA's budget grew approximately 20% from 2024 to 2025 — a substantial increase, though the office argues it still lags behind comparable jurisdictions.

Case Volume: Is the Backlog Growing?

The DA's office tracks cases opened and closed. The data reveals whether the office is keeping up with incoming cases:

Superior Court and Juvenile Court Cases:

PeriodOpenedClosedNet Change
2023 (Jan–Aug)4,2163,691+525 (backlog grew)
2024 (Jan–Aug)3,6943,518+176 (backlog grew)
2025 (Jan–Jun)3,6313,745-114 (backlog shrank)

In 2023 and 2024, the DA's office opened more cases than it closed — meaning the pending caseload grew. In the first half of 2025, the office closed more cases than it opened, suggesting the backlog may be stabilizing. However, six months of data is insufficient to establish a trend.

The Gwinnett County Superior Court clearance rate — the percentage of incoming cases disposed of — was reported at 103.84% in a recent national court standards analysis. A clearance rate above 100% means the court is disposing of more cases than are coming in, which is a positive sign for backlog reduction.

Conviction Rates

The DA's office has reported strong conviction rates in recent years:

YearJury TrialsConviction Rate
20235380%
20245490%
2025—100% on homicide; 100% on drug/gang cases

A 90% conviction rate across 54 jury trials indicates that when cases go to trial, the prosecution wins the vast majority. However, most criminal cases do not go to trial — they are resolved through plea agreements, dismissals, or diversion. The DA's office does not publicly report the breakdown of all case dispositions (plea vs. dismissal vs. trial conviction vs. diversion), which limits the ability to assess overall case outcomes.

Gwinnett County Jail: Population and Pressure

The Gwinnett County Jail, operated by the Sheriff's Office, houses pretrial detainees and sentenced inmates serving shorter terms.

MetricValue
Approximate population~2,250 inmates
Capacity utilization~85%
Estimated capacity~2,650 beds
Location2900 University Parkway, Lawrenceville

At 85% capacity, the jail is below its rated limit but operating at a level that typically strains staffing and programming. The Sheriff's Office has acknowledged population pressure and has implemented measures including electronic health records, increased inmate work crews, and revised hiring standards to address staffing shortages.

The jail does not publicly publish repeat-booking statistics — data that would show how many individuals are booked multiple times within a given period. This is a significant data gap. Repeat-booking data would be one of the most direct measures of whether a small group of individuals cycles through the jail repeatedly.

Georgia's Rising Recidivism Rate

The Georgia Department of Corrections tracks three-year reconviction rates — the percentage of people released from prison who are convicted of a new felony within three years. This is the closest available proxy for repeat offending at the state level.

Georgia 3-Year Reconviction Rate (All Facilities):

Fiscal YearReconviction Rate
201728.9%
201825.4%
201923.3%
202024.3%
202127.1%
202230.7%
202331.6%

Georgia's recidivism rate fell to a low of 23.3% in FY2019 but has since risen to 31.6% in FY2023 — the highest in the past decade. This means roughly one in three people released from Georgia prison is reconvicted of a new felony within three years.

This state-level data suggests that repeat offending is a real and growing issue. However, it measures prison releases statewide, not Gwinnett County arrests specifically. It also measures reconviction — not rearrest — which is a stricter standard.

Is a Small Group Responsible for a Large Share of Arrests?

This is the central question — and the available public data does not provide a definitive answer for Gwinnett County or Duluth specifically.

What the data does show:

  • Georgia's recidivism rate (31.6% in FY2023) confirms that a significant portion of released inmates reoffend
  • Atlanta Police Department data cited during the SB 63 debate showed that 889 repeat-offender arrests accounted for nearly 29,000 criminal charges — an average of 33 charges per person — suggesting concentration among a small group
  • The DA's office acknowledges a "significant backlog" and caseloads exceeding 600 per attorney

What the data does NOT show:

  • Duluth PD does not publish arrest statistics, making it impossible to analyze repeat arrests within Duluth's jurisdiction
  • Gwinnett County does not publish a repeat-offender or repeat-booking analysis
  • The Gwinnett court portal allows individual case searches but does not support bulk analysis of how many defendants have prior cases
  • No public database tracks the percentage of Gwinnett arrestees who were on probation, parole, or had pending cases at the time of arrest

Conclusion on the central question: The state-level data (rising recidivism, Atlanta's concentration data) suggests that repeat offenders likely account for a disproportionate share of arrests in Gwinnett County — but the local public records needed to prove this are not available. We cannot responsibly claim that a small group drives a specific percentage of Gwinnett arrests without the underlying data.

How Long Does Justice Take in Gwinnett County?

Gwinnett County does not publish median case-processing times broken down by offense type. Based on general Georgia legal practice:

  • Misdemeanors typically resolve in 2–6 months
  • Felonies typically take 6–24 months from arrest to disposition

The DA's 2025 data showing 3,084 Superior Court cases closed in the first half of the year (versus 2,986 opened) suggests improved throughput. But without case-level disposition-time data, we cannot calculate a median case duration or compare misdemeanor vs. felony processing times.

Cost to Taxpayers

The criminal justice system in Gwinnett County is funded through the county's $2.58 billion budget (2026). Key components:

ComponentAnnual Cost
District Attorney's Office (2025)~$30.3M
Sheriff's Office / JailNot separately disclosed in available records
Courts (Superior, State, Magistrate, etc.)Not separately disclosed in available records
Public DefenderState-funded through Georgia Public Defender Council

The DA's office budget alone grew from $25.2M to $30.3M in one year — a $5.1M increase. The Sheriff's Office, which operates the jail, has requested additional staffing for 2026. The full cost of policing, courts, prosecution, public defense, and incarceration in Gwinnett County likely exceeds $100M annually when all components are combined, but a precise total cannot be verified from available budget documents.

For context on how these costs fit into the overall Gwinnett County budget, see our separate investigation.

Drug Deaths: A Different Measure

The DA's office tracks drug-related deaths as a measure of the opioid and fentanyl crisis:

PeriodDrug Deaths (confirmed + pending)
2023 (full year)99 + 36
2024 (full year)81 + 34
2025 (Jan–Jun)71 total

Drug deaths declined from 2023 to 2024 but appear to be accelerating in 2025 (71 in six months, on pace to exceed prior years). These deaths reflect the human cost of drug-related crime and the urgency of prosecution and prevention efforts.

Five Under-Covered Findings

1. Georgia's recidivism rate hit a decade high in FY2023. The 3-year reconviction rate rose from 23.3% (FY2019) to 31.6% (FY2023) — a 36% increase in four years. This trend has received almost no local news coverage in Gwinnett County.

2. Gwinnett has far fewer prosecutors per capita than Fulton or DeKalb. With 59 ADAs for 1.01M residents (one per 17,100), Gwinnett has roughly half the staffing ratio of Fulton (one per 8,200) and DeKalb (one per 8,000). The DA's office acknowledges caseloads exceeding 600 per attorney.

3. The DA's backlog grew in 2023 and 2024. The office opened 525 more cases than it closed in 2023 (Jan–Aug) and 176 more in 2024 — meaning pending cases accumulated. The first half of 2025 showed improvement, but the trend is not yet conclusive.

4. Duluth PD does not publish arrest data. Unlike many departments of similar size, Duluth PD directs residents to third-party sites (SpotCrime, MyLocalCrime) rather than maintaining its own public crime or arrest database. This limits transparency and makes independent analysis of local arrest patterns — including repeat arrests — impossible.

5. Gwinnett's jail does not publish repeat-booking statistics. Repeat-booking data — showing how many individuals are booked into the jail multiple times — would be one of the most direct measures of whether a small group cycles through the system. This data is not publicly available.

Fairness: Why Cases Get Dismissed

Not every arrest results in a conviction, and that is by design. Cases can be resolved without conviction for legitimate reasons:

  • Insufficient evidence — after further investigation, the evidence may not support the charge beyond a reasonable doubt
  • Witness unavailability — witnesses may move, recant, or be unable to testify
  • Plea agreements — charges may be reduced or consolidated as part of a negotiated resolution
  • Diversion programs — first-time or non-violent offenders may complete programs that result in dismissal
  • Constitutional issues — evidence may be suppressed if rights were violated
  • Duplicate charges — the same conduct may be charged in multiple counts

A dismissal does not mean the arrest was improper — and it does not mean the defendant was guilty. It means the case did not result in a conviction. The DA's office does not publish a breakdown of dismissal reasons, which limits public understanding of why cases don't result in convictions.

What We Could and Could Not Determine

What we determined:

  • The DA's office is understaffed relative to comparable counties and acknowledges a significant backlog
  • Georgia's recidivism rate is at a decade high (31.6%), suggesting repeat offending is a real and growing problem
  • The Superior Court clearance rate exceeds 100%, suggesting the court is managing its caseload
  • Conviction rates at trial are strong (80-90%)
  • The jail is at 85% capacity
  • The DA's budget grew 20% in one year

What we could not determine:

  • How many Duluth arrestees had prior arrests or convictions (Duluth PD doesn't publish arrest data)
  • What percentage of Gwinnett arrestees were rearrested while a case was pending (no public database tracks this)
  • Whether a small group of repeat offenders drives a disproportionate share of Gwinnett arrests (the granular data doesn't exist publicly)
  • Median case-processing time for Gwinnett courts (not published)
  • The full cost of the criminal justice system in Gwinnett County (budget components not separately disclosed)
  • Repeat-booking rates at the jail (not published)

Connection to Public Safety

This investigation follows our earlier analysis of Is Duluth, Georgia Safe?, which found that Duluth PD reported 50%+ reductions in burglary, robbery, and vehicle theft in 2024. That article examined crime trends and policing. This article examines what happens after police make arrests — the court system, prosecution, and case resolution.

Both investigations reveal the same pattern: Duluth and Gwinnett County do not publish the granular data needed to answer some of the most important public-safety questions. Duluth PD doesn't publish arrest statistics. The jail doesn't publish repeat-booking data. The DA doesn't publish case-outcome breakdowns. The courts don't publish median processing times.

For taxpayers who fund the Gwinnett County budget — and for residents concerned about who pays for Duluth's growth — the lack of transparent justice-system data is itself a finding worth reporting. You cannot manage what you cannot measure.

Official Data & Sources

How We Analyzed the Records

This investigation relied on official government budget documents, DA business plan presentations, Georgia Department of Corrections statistical reports, Georgia legislative records, and Gwinnett County government websites. We did not use mugshot websites, social-media accusations, or unverified criminal-record aggregators.

Date range analyzed: 2023–2025 (partial year) for DA case volume; FY2012–FY2023 for state recidivism rates; 2024–2025 for conviction rates.

Limitations: Duluth PD does not publish arrest statistics. Gwinnett County does not publish repeat-offender or repeat-booking analyses. The Gwinnett court portal does not support bulk analysis of prior cases per defendant. We could not construct a 100-250 case sample because reliable, machine-readable court records were not accessible through public web portals. We did not invent countywide statistics. Where data was unavailable, we said so explicitly.

Definitions: "Recidivism" refers to the 3-year felony reconviction rate as defined by the Georgia Department of Corrections. "Clearance rate" refers to the ratio of cases disposed to cases filed. "Backlog" refers to the net accumulation of pending cases when openings exceed closures.

Explore Georgia

Explore more news, elections, representatives, and information from Georgia.

Visit Georgia State Profile

More Gwinnett County coverage

Explore the Crime hub, the Gwinnett County hub, and related topic hubs.

Comments (0)

Join the conversation — log in to share your views.

Be the first to comment.