Skip to content
WorthFighting Research · Public records & parent rights

New Braunfels ISD Library Tracker: SB 13, Parent Access & Book Decisions

A documented policy adoption, administrative collection review and two formal challenge decisions make this the strongest case for separating recommendations from board action.

By WorthFighting Research · Published and verified October 9, 2026 · Selected records, not a statewide census

Implementation at a glance

District profile

New Braunfels ISD

Comal County · administrative-center county · checked 2026-10-09

A documented policy adoption, administrative collection review and two formal challenge decisions make this the strongest case for separating recommendations from board action.

Policy
Instructional Materials – Library Materials (EFB LOCAL), as named in the September board brief
Adoption evidence
Documented · 2025-08-11
Parent catalog access
Documented
Parent checkout controls
Documented
Council
Other committee documented
Petition
Qualifying petition or certification not located
Procedure, evidence and source details
Policy evidence
Adoption documented
Challenge procedure
Documented
Acquisition records
Documented
Decision records
Documented
Latest source date/context
2026-10-01
Public-comment window
No planned purchases displayed on October 9; September 2026 list filed as approved
  1. NBISD Library ServicesSource date/context: Undated live page · checked 2026-10-09No planned purchases displayed at check; September 2026 list appears under approved lists.
  2. NBISD September 2025 board briefSource date/context: 2025-09-09 · checked 2026-10-09Reports EFB(LOCAL) approval on August 11, 2025.
  3. NBISD Library Materials Challenge ProcessSource date/context: 2026-09-16 · checked 2026-10-09
  4. NBISD formal challenge decisions registerSource date/context: Undated live register · checked 2026-10-09Committee report dates are not board vote dates.
  5. NBISD administrative review resultsSource date/context: 2026-05-26 · checked 2026-10-09Administrative designations and separate librarian removals; not a list of board votes.
  6. NBISD SB 13 implementation updateSource date/context: 2025-10-14 · checked 2026-10-09October 13 board action.
  7. NBISD secondary libraries reopeningSource date/context: 2025-10-23 board action · checked 2026-10-09October 23 vote; October 27 reopening.
  8. NBISD March 2026 board briefSource date/context: 2026-03 · checked 2026-10-09Describes administrative review; publication-day precision not retained.
  9. NBISD library materials challenge formSource date/context: 2026-10-01 · checked 2026-10-09
  10. NBISD September 2026 approved listSource date/context: 2026-09 · checked 2026-10-09

Parent catalog access and checkout controls

Open the catalog

Open Library Services and its Destiny catalog/parent instructions. The district describes access to current and historical checkouts and the ability to restrict individual titles for a linked child. Use its separate Sora instructions for digital materials; a print-catalog restriction should not be assumed to change Sora. Contact the campus librarian if the parent account is not linked.

Official catalog entry point

Set a child’s restrictions

Destiny offers title restrictions. Sora serves grades 6–12, with young-adult access described for grades 8–12 and different access for grades 6–7. The district provides separate Sora parental-control instructions.

The procedures above are drawn from the district sources below. Parent authentication and private student records were not accessed.

Acquisitions, challenges and council participation

Acquisition and public-comment process

The live page displayed no planned purchases at the October 9 check. Its September 2026 list was filed under board-approved acquisitions, so this tracker does not present an expired proposal as an open comment window.

Challenge or reconsideration

Begin with the campus librarian or principal for informal concerns. The district directs formal submissions to the principal’s office using its challenge form. Its published review procedure uses one librarian, one teacher and three parents; the committee reads the complete work and recommends an action to trustees. Access is restricted during review. The page distinguishes formal challenges from grievances about administrative removals.

Council, appointments and petitions

The October 2025 board-created SB 13 advisory committee and title-specific review committees are documented. A qualifying parent petition and evidence establishing a statutory §33.025 parent-majority council were not located. Those bodies should not be treated as interchangeable.

Documented title records

Board decisionRemoved

Allegedly

Tiffany D. Jackson
New Braunfels ISD

Last documented outcome
Removed
Current-status evidence
Unknown
Event date
2026-04-21
Date basis
Committee report date; board vote date not supplied
Campus / grades
Not specified · Not specified
Board vote / date
6–1 · Not located
Full decision record and sources
Challenge source
Debbie Leimbach
Stated reason
Not stated in reviewed register
Challenge filed
Not located
Administrative review
Not located
Committee recommendation
SB 13 compliant; 5–0; report dated 2026-04-21
Board action
Did not approve committee recommendation; register says removed from libraries
Current catalog status
Current campus-level holdings not independently verified
Latest source date
Undated
Last verified
2026-10-09
Evidence notes
The board tally is separate from the committee tally. Do not date the board vote April 21 from this register.
  1. NBISD formal challenge decisions registerSource date/context: Undated live register · checked 2026-10-09Committee report dates are not board vote dates.
Board decisionRestored

Barbie Today

Elizabeth Andrews
New Braunfels ISD

Last documented outcome
Restored
Current-status evidence
Unknown
Event date
2026-06-10
Date basis
Committee report date; board vote date not supplied
Campus / grades
Not specified · Not specified
Board vote / date
7–0 · Not located
Full decision record and sources
Challenge source
John Hewitt
Stated reason
Not stated in reviewed register
Challenge filed
Not located
Administrative review
Not located
Committee recommendation
SB 13 compliant; 5–0; report dated 2026-06-10
Board action
Approved committee recommendation; register says placed back on shelf
Current catalog status
Current campus-level holdings not independently verified
Latest source date
Undated
Last verified
2026-10-09
Evidence notes
No additional note
  1. NBISD formal challenge decisions registerSource date/context: Undated live register · checked 2026-10-09Committee report dates are not board vote dates.

Implementation timeline

  1. 2025-08-11EFB(LOCAL) approved, as reported in the September board brief. NBISD September 2025 board brief
  2. 2025-10-13Board unanimously voted to suspend secondary library operations and create a board advisory committee. NBISD SB 13 implementation update
  3. 2025-10-23Board unanimously voted to reopen secondary libraries October 27. NBISD secondary libraries reopening
  4. 2026-04-21Allegedly committee report: compliant, 5–0; the register separately records a contrary 6–1 board decision. NBISD formal challenge decisions register
  5. 2026-06-10Barbie Today committee report: compliant, 5–0; register separately records board approval, 7–0. NBISD formal challenge decisions register

Evidence gaps and conflicts

The formal register supplies committee report dates and separate committee/board tallies but does not give a board meeting date for either selected title. It reports actions taken; live campus-by-campus catalog holdings were not independently checked. Administrative SB 13 designations on a separate page are not trustee votes.

Parent questions

How do I see my child’s school-library catalog?

Open Library Services and its Destiny catalog/parent instructions. The district describes access to current and historical checkouts and the ability to restrict individual titles for a linked child. Use its separate Sora instructions for digital materials; a print-catalog restriction should not be assumed to change Sora. Contact the campus librarian if the parent account is not linked.

How do I limit books for my own child?

Destiny offers title restrictions. Sora serves grades 6–12, with young-adult access described for grades 8–12 and different access for grades 6–7. The district provides separate Sora parental-control instructions.

Does this page prove that every listed title is currently available or removed?

No. Read the date, campus, decision-maker and current-status field on each record. A historical committee action, current pending review and final board decision carry different evidentiary weight.

Where can I find the law and compare other districts?

Read the Texas SB 13 guide and search the district database. The report explains the limits of this sample.

Official district document library

  1. NBISD Library ServicesSource date/context: Undated live page · checked 2026-10-09No planned purchases displayed at check; September 2026 list appears under approved lists.
  2. NBISD September 2025 board briefSource date/context: 2025-09-09 · checked 2026-10-09Reports EFB(LOCAL) approval on August 11, 2025.
  3. NBISD Library Materials Challenge ProcessSource date/context: 2026-09-16 · checked 2026-10-09
  4. NBISD formal challenge decisions registerSource date/context: Undated live register · checked 2026-10-09Committee report dates are not board vote dates.
  5. NBISD administrative review resultsSource date/context: 2026-05-26 · checked 2026-10-09Administrative designations and separate librarian removals; not a list of board votes.
  6. NBISD SB 13 implementation updateSource date/context: 2025-10-14 · checked 2026-10-09October 13 board action.
  7. NBISD secondary libraries reopeningSource date/context: 2025-10-23 board action · checked 2026-10-09October 23 vote; October 27 reopening.
  8. NBISD March 2026 board briefSource date/context: 2026-03 · checked 2026-10-09Describes administrative review; publication-day precision not retained.
  9. NBISD library materials challenge formSource date/context: 2026-10-01 · checked 2026-10-09
  10. NBISD September 2026 approved listSource date/context: 2026-09 · checked 2026-10-09

Update log

October 9, 2026: Initial evidence snapshot published. Five district trackers, 16 comparison profiles and 27 selected title records. Current-status gaps, policy-version conflicts and incomplete dates are explicitly retained. This page is a dated snapshot; no automatic future update is implied.